# TIKANGA PAKEHA CONFERENCE TUESDAY 14 JULY 2020, ZOOM, 7PM

#### **DRAFT MINUTES**

- 1. Welcome to all and prayer from ++Philip Richardson.
  - A special welcome to Michael Hughes, the General Secretary, who will assist with Chairing the Appointment of Senior Bishop.

#### 2. MINUTES

**Motion:** That the minutes of the TPC meeting held 4-5 May 2018 be confirmed as a true and accurate record. *Moved from the Chair.* **Carried.** 

 Matters arising deferred to the TPC meeting to be held later in the year (send any items to raise to the TPC Administrator).

## 3. APPOINTMENT OF SENIOR BISHOP

++Philip Richardson left the room.

- General Secretary Michael Hughes is in the Chair. The term of the Senior Bishop explained; the current term for Archbishop Philip finishes with General Synod zoom on July 25<sup>th</sup>. Standing Resolution requires TPC to receive from House of Bishops their nomination for the next term.
- Bishop Ross Bay confirmed the House of Bishop's nomination:
- **Motion:** That Archbishop Philip be appointed to a further term as Senior Bishop Tikanga Pakeha, for a three year term.
- Thanks given by Michael Hughes to Bishop Ross, the House of Bishops and for willingness of Archbishop Philip to serve in this way.
- Chris Harding suggested TPC ensure ++Philip's contribution is recognised by approving his continued use of Archbishop, following his retirement from the Primacy, as was done for Archbishop David before him. The General Secretary confirmed GSSC had now adopted as policy that all incumbents of the primacy are to be offered the honorific Archbishop Emeritus on retirement from the primacy.
- Noted: That the nomination of Archbishop Philip Richardson, as Senior Bishop and Archbishop of NZ Dioceses, is confirmed for three years to 30<sup>th</sup> June 2023, voted unanimously by the conference.
- ++Philip Richardson re-joined the conference, thanked everyone and expressed
  his gratitude to the other Bishops, noting their strong sense of community and
  mutual support, common leadership and vision. Also stated his appreciation for
  his family's support, noting the cost they have borne and also privileges
  experienced.
- +Ross offered thanks to ++Philip, his wife Belinda and family and prayed for them.

## 4. ELECTIONS: NOMINATIONS TO GO FORWARD TO GSTHW FROM TPC

NOMINATIONS FROM TPC FOR GSTHW

Standing Committee of the General Synod /te Hīnota Whānui

Auckland: Rev'd Claire Barrie

Christchurch: Ms Wanjiru (Ciru) Muriuki Dunedin: Rev'd Canon Fr Michael Wallace

Nelson: Rev'd Dr Andrew Burgess Waiapu: Rev'd Jenny Chalmers Waikato & Taranaki: Ms Cath McVey Wellington: Mr John Whitehead Youth Rep: Mr Etienne Wain

# **Archives and History Committee**

Ms Jane Teal

The Rev'd John McCaul

# **New Zealand Anglican Church Pension Board**

The Very Rev'd Lawrence Kimberley

# **Commission on Treaty and Partnership Issues**

Mr Etienne Wain

Vacancy

# **Anglican Insurance Board**

Ms Colleen Kaye

## Te Kotahitanga

The Rev'd T Meadowcroft

Ms Karen Spoelstra

The Tikanga Pakeha Ministry Body elects a third person following GSTHW:

The Rt Rev'd A Hedge. Alternate: Rev'd Dr Graham O'Brien

# NOMINATIONS FROM TIKANGA PAKEHA CONFERENCE COORDINATING GROUP (TPCCG) GOING TO GENERAL SYNOD/ TE HINOTA WHANUI 2020

#### **Council for Ecumenism**

The Very Rev'd Anne Mills

The Rev. Canon Michael Wallace

## **Common Life Liturgical Commission**

The Ven Carole Hughes (Chair)

The Ven Nick Mountfort

# Commission on the Treaty/Tiriti, Church and Nation

The Rev'd Richard Bonifant

Ms Kaz Yung

# **Council for Anglican Women's Studies**

The Ven Canon Helen Roud continues, (half-way through existing term to 2022).

The Rev'd Val Riches (beginning of new four-year term).

## **Tikanga Toru Youth Commission**

Ms O'Love Uluave

Mr Edmundd Hilder

## NOMINATIONS TO BE MADE DIRECTLY AT GENERAL SYNOD 2020

# **Judicial Committee**

Reappointment of:

Judge Chris Harding

Judge Anne McAloon

Ms Brigit Brant

The Rev'd Joel Rowse

As a note, the House of Bishops appoint one of their own and are likely to real Bishopishop Steven Benford.

#### **Tribunal on Doctrine**

Reappointment of The Rev Dr A Burgess

Nomination of Mr Gareth Bezett, to replace a vacancy

# **Tribunal under the Church of England Empowering Act 1928**

Reappointment of Mr G Bailey and Mr Ian Pask

Clergy vacancy, nomination coming to GSSC from Rev Canon Michael Wallace

**Additional nomination from the floor:** Rev'd Peter Bargh for Commission on Treaty and Partnership Issues (PH).

No further nominations from the floor.

#### **Motion:**

**THAT** these nominations be ratified, and forwarded to the GSTHW where appropriate, and where they are a TPC action they be approved.

Moved from the Chair. Carried.

Thanks given by ++Philip to those who are willing to serve in these roles.

## Apologies from TPC members acknowledged:

Very Rev'd Wendy Scott, Dean of Waikato Bishop Justin Duckworth Bishop Eleanor Sanderson Mr Etienne Wain Mr Tony Hill Rev'd Anashuya Fletcher

Additional apologies and greetings from Rev'd Katene Eruera, Rev'd Karen Kemp and Mr Simon Cayley.

#### 5. TIKANGA PAKEHA CONFERENCE BUDGET 2020-22

Budget presented by Andrea McDougall.

#### Motion:

**THAT** the Tikanga Pakeha Conference budget for the years 2020, 2021 and 2022 be approved.

Moved from the Chair. Carried.

# 6. MOTION FOR PROPOSED CHANGE TO TPC REFERENCE INFORMATION: TIKANGA CONFERENCE COORDINATING GROUP MEMBERSHIP

Ian Pask presented the motion.

#### Motion:

**THAT** the Tikanga Pakeha Conference Reference Information be amended (TIKANGA PAKEHA CONFERENCE COORDINATING GROUP MEMBERSHIP, page 9) by deleting "other than the Diocese of the Senior Bishop"

from:

**2. Membership** (2) One member of the Tikanga Pakeha Conference appointed by each Diocese other than the Diocese of the Senior Bishop.

to:

**2. Membership** (2) One member of the Tikanga Pakeha Conference appointed by each Diocese.

Ian Pask / Alison Thomson. Carried.

#### 7. DEFERRING NON-URGENT BUSINESS TO TPC FACE TO FACE LATER IN 2020

++Philip noted the non-urgent business is deferred to a TPC later in 2020.

#### 8. CONFIRMATION OF TPCCG MEMBERSHIP

Diocese appointees to Tikanga Pakeha Conference Coordinating Group (TPCCG) provided by each Diocese:

- Waikato & Taranaki: Very Rev'd Wendy Scott
- ++Philip noted Wendy's service and significant workload she undertook to assist him in her role on TPCCG (previous Wellington rep). She has indicated willingness to Chair the TPCCG for the next 12 months and then provide support for another member to take on the chairing role, being intentional about succession (noted that TPCCG itself gets to elect its Chair).
- Auckland: Captain Peter Lloyd
- Christchurch: Mr Byron Behm
- Dunedin: Rev'd Andrea McDougall
- Nelson: Rev'd Simon Martin
   Waiapu: Miss Alison Thomson
   Wellington: Rev'd Tim McKenzie

## 9. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Intended for next TPC to be help in conjunction with GSTHW face-to-face later in 2020.

 Michael Hughes spoke in regards to GSTHW. Standing Committee have put aside dates Saturday 5<sup>th</sup> December to Tuesday 8<sup>th</sup> December, for a face to face GSTHW in Nelson. Confirmation will be made after new GSSC meet following GSTHW on 25 July.

Thanks given by ++Philip for attendance and participation of everyone.

## **10. CLOSING PRAYER**

Led by ++Philip Richardson.

KM 20.07.20